article thumbnail

Industry Report: Restaurants face staffing challenges, old and new in 2023

7 Shifts

The shrunken labor pool inflation, turnover, and technology, all make up the stew that operating a restaurant is in 2023. But those who are qualified to speak on the subject are the ones doing the work day in and day out trying to untangle the web that is restaurant management in 2023 and beyond.

2023 398
article thumbnail

2023 Outlook: Trends and Challenges Restaurants Will See, Part Two

Modern Restaurant Management

Modern Restaurant Management (MRM) magazine asked experts for their thoughts on trends and challenges that will affect the restaurant industry in 2023. In 2023, we can anticipate businesses really focusing in on value and doing what they can to attract and retain both employees and guests. For part one, click here.

2023 193
Insiders

Sign Up for our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Trending Sources

article thumbnail

2023 Restaurant Technology Trends: Consolidation, Experience, and Fees

Modern Restaurant Management

Here are six things I see coming in 2023: Labor pressure is easing, but operators are still looking for labor management. A likely recession in 2023 is already leading consumers to cut back on restaurant spending. Technology acquisitions will drive consolidation, which coincides with demand from operators.

2023 209
article thumbnail

Future Tech in 2023

Modern Restaurant Management

Where do you see the most potential for robotic use in 2023? In 2023, restaurants will focus on scaling and adoption. What’s next for Miso?). We are past the point where it’s a question if robotics and automation are going to be implemented, but rather where in the kitchen.

2023 176
article thumbnail

DOL Final Overtime Rules: Quickstart Guide for Employers

On August 30, 2023, the DOL unveiled a proposed overtime rule that would raise the weekly salary threshold under the Federal Labor Standards Act. Paycor is closely monitoring the proposal and will provide updates as new information becomes available.

article thumbnail

Restaurant Strategy for 2023

Modern Restaurant Management

Modern Restaurant Management (MRM) magazine contributor Izzy Kharasch of Hospitality Works offers his best planning practices for restaurant operators as we approach 2023.

2023 157
article thumbnail

Federal Judge Rescinds 2023 Joint Employer Rule

Modern Restaurant Management

The United States District Court in the Eastern District of Texas handed down a summary judgement decision, vacating the National Labor Relations Board’s 2023 Joint Employer Rule. ” A separate challenge to the 2023 Joint Employer Rule remains in the D.C. Circuit Court.

2023 98
article thumbnail

Transforming Hospitality Experiences: Unleashing the Power of ChatGPT in the Industry

Speaker: Joseph Guszkowski - Senior Technology Editor, Restaurant Business | Jay Ashton - National Brand Activation Manager, Sysco | Dan Maimone - Global Director of Customer Success Operations, Harri

Learning Objectives Explore the ethical considerations surrounding the use of ChatGPT in the restaurant and hospitality industry, such as the potential impact on job displacement and the balance between automation and maintaining a personalized human touch in customer interactions Explore best practices for integrating ChatGPT in the hiring process, (..)

article thumbnail

Preventing Employee Burnout in Restaurants & Hospitality: An Integrated Approach

Speaker: Lissa Bowen - Chief People + Culture Officer, Full Course Executive Director, Full Course Foundation

July 25, 2023 at 9:30am PT, 12:30 pm ET, 5:30 pm BST Empowering restaurant managers and owners with these insights will not only contribute to the well-being of their employees but also enhance overall operational efficiency and sustainable business success.

article thumbnail

Utilizing Technology: Improve Customer Experience and Increase Points of Profit in Your Restaurant Business

Speaker: Hillary Holmes - SpotOn Operator in Residence; Troy Hooper - CEO, Kiwi Restaurant Partners; Jason Berkowitz - Founder and CEO of ARROW UP Training

They'll provide key insights into: Achieving higher revenue Using technology to diversify revenue streams Reducing operating cost and building customer loyalty Turning tables with less staff and cutting down third party dependency March 9th, 2023 at 12:30 pmPST, 3:30 pm EST, 7:30 pm GMT

article thumbnail

Diving into Diversity: Decoding the Foundations of Inclusion in Hospitality Talent Acquisition

Speaker: Lauren Fernandez - CEO & Founder, Full Course

September 14, 2023 at 11:00am PT, 2:00 pm ET, 7:00 pm BST